It’s  hard to believe that I graduated from college almost two weeks ago. Before and after graduation I have been asked repeatedly what was next. What was my new goal? What did I hope to accomplish now?  What was my next move?

To be honest, I never had a clue.

I am fortunate enough to be given the opportunity to work with a local company as a full-time employee only a week after graduation. A set schedule, catered lunches, and an amazing FIVE minute commute. And I never saw myself there.

I saw an opportunity and I took a chance.

None of us actually know what we want to do with out lives. We may have one idea in mind, but as we progress through life, our values change. We change. And that’s okay. That’s life!

Anyone who knows me, knows I plan out EVERYTHING. Color-coded agenda and time frames. Yet, I never planned out my post-grad life. I knew I wanted to find a nice job with decent pay and still be able to volunteer. I had a few ideas of what I didn’t want, but I knew I should be grateful for whatever life threw at me.

One lesson I took away from my college years was to always take a chance. If an opportunity presents itself, why not consider it? It may be the best thing you’ve ever done. It could be a stepping stone towards your ideal job or even turn out to the career you never knew you wanted.

Whatever you do, take a chance and don’t be afraid to walk into the unknown.

This world is full of opportunities waiting for you to find them.

I do hope to one day open my own rabbit rescue. That’s a long-term goal that I feel I may be on the correct path for. It may not be huge, but I know through my volunteer and work experiences, one day I will have all the necessary information to excel. I also know my life can change at any given moment and to not be discouraged if it takes longer than expected to reach my desired end-goal.

Whatever happens, to paraphrase Dr. Grigsby, you have the skills to excel and make a difference in this world, wherever you go and whatever you do you will exceed expectation [and make sure to tell them that Moravian College has sent you].

