Many people who know me, think of me as bubbly and positive. I can’t tell you how many times my coworkers have told me to tone it down on a Monday – sorry guys! Truth is, I wasn’t always this way.

Like many teenagers, I got into a funk around 10th grade. I found myself mentally in a dark space. I choose to see the school therapist to get myself out of it. I only had a few meetings with her. Heck, I can’t even remember her name.

Every meeting would begin the same. She’d tell me a story of how her and her husband would collect rocks on their adventures and send them home via USPS. The running joke with her mailman was that “oh this feels like a bag of rocks! that’s because it is!” Great, but to this day I never understood the reasoning behind this story. In fact, it made me MORE angry. We only had 30 minute sessions and this story would take up ten minutes of it.

After several repeated scenarios of this, I had enough. If a therapist couldn’t help me, I would help me.

On gloomy days, I’d wear brighter colors. I would try to smile more. Keep my head up and not look down as I walked through the halls. I reached out to my friends to hang out more and do things that made me happy. Make lists of my strengths. Label my weaknesses as things to improve on. I turned what used to be seen as flaws in my eyes, into something positive. An example; I’m super short  >> I can save money on clothes from buying from the kids section and can hide in more places.

I even bought a few self-help books. I have no shame in admitting that. Some people turn to religion to seek relief. Mine came from books. Some were just books of positive quotes. Others about changing how you see the world.

We only have a limited time on this planet. Yes there are stressors and bad days. There are reasons to be upset, but there is always a light at the end of the tunnel. A rainbow to appear after some rain.  I try not to let one bad thing ruin my entire day. I’ll joke about it, complain a bit, and move on.

How your day (and life) goes and seems, is dependant on your attitude. A bad attitude, a gloomy look on life, will result in darkness. You can’t see sunshine with darkened glasses.

I’ll leave you with a few of my favorite positivity quotes:


“Promote what you love instead of bashing what you hate” – unknown

“The mind is everything. What you think you become.” – Buddha

“Nobody can go back and start a new beginning. But anyone can start today and make a new ending.” – Maria Robinson

“When something bad happens, you have three choices: you can either let it define you, let it destroy you, or you can let it strengthen you.” – unknown

 

